Custom Search
Showing posts with label Educational Website Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Educational Website Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, January 20, 2012

My final word on Georgia Virtual School

I just answered a series of emails regarding previous posts I made about Georgia and so I thought I would share my final word on the program. It is not that I want to discourage homeschoolers from using the program, but I do want homeschoolers to be careful about putting too much weight on the program.. Here is my reply to an email requesting Clarification:

Here's the deal. To be successful you have to spend two-plus hours per day per class. They even say that in orientation, but my kids and I heard that and said " that's just crazy" and spent the hour a day that they've always spent, per subject.  Eventually, we realized that that was not going to cut the mustard and adjusted. It it was too late. 

Top that of with programming glitches (that we were able to prove existed) that deleted completed work and my kids ended up dropping two of thee classes.  I am not saying don't use GAVS.  I am saying tread lightly. Take the one or two classes that you know you can't help your kid with and then make sure she/he has enough time in the schedule to work on it. Keep in mind that six classes through GAVS means 12 hours a day studying. That leaves no time for creative outlets, sports, or sleep.  

On the plus side, it was engaging and my kids learned a ton... More than they felt they had ever learned in any in-person class.  I just think the school system goes overboard to compensate for lack of face time and grading is also harsher than it would be in an actual classroom.

~free online curriculum at http://freehomeed.com

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Fat Cat Phonics (Educational Product Review)

I was recently sent a link to a site called Fat Cat Phonics.   This educational tool/ learning toy started out as a craft project between mother (Jennifer Powell) and daughter who wanted to give out refrigerator magnet gifts.  With the help  of her educational consultant friend, it quickly morphed into a valuable learning tool that teaches and reinforces fundamental reading & math skills using a highly engaging hands-on format.to teach phonics and math.

The best part of this program is that the child will be learning through play.  That puts this item on my list of possible Christmas presents, not for my high school kids, but for preschoolers through third graders.  Check it out, it looks like a great investment and excellent use of the Christmas budget.

Don't just take my word for it.  Check out the website which includes a web portal with membership.

Thursday, December 09, 2010

teAchnology website review (Free worksheets)

teAchnology is a website that specializes in providing teacher-made worksheets for educators.  That have 30,000 free worksheets, and for a seasonably priced prescription, you can have access to online worksheet makers and online interactive games.

Let's start with the free worksheets.  What homeschoolers wouldn't want free worksheets?  Right?

It took me a while to find the free worksheets area, so let me lead it to you.  Start out on the main page of Teachnology.com  Click on the words " 9,000 free printable worksheets"  in the first paragraph on the first section of the page.  This will take you to the page for Free teacher worksheets.  You can now choose the worksheet you need by subject.  When you get to your chosen page, for example, in my case, Printable Geometry Worksheets, stick to the text links.  The photos of the worksheets at the bottom will take you to the paid prescription page.  

Now there's nothing wrong with going to the prescription page, it does add extra value.  However, if you want to try out the site first, you will follow my steps that take you to the free worksheets.  They will give a good idea as to what you can expect on the subscription site where you can practically access full workbooks!  From the time I spent viewing the site, I can tell you that if you choose to subscribe, you will not need to purchase any other worksheets or supplemental materials for your homeschooling needs.

Whether you choose the free worksheets only, or the paid subscription, you will find  worksheets for grades k-12 and all subjects such as language arts, math, science, social studies, and holidays.   I also noticed that the for the worksheets I most needed, such as the Algebra and Geometry packs, for high school students, a subscription is necessary.  The worksheets I could access for free, however, are well done and appear to be be good educational exercises.   Also, I did find the free math worksheets  and vocabulary worksheets to be very useful.

Thursday, August 26, 2010

An indepth review of Time4learning

 I used time4learning to homeschool my kids from the time they left school to roughly 5th and 6th grade.  As they move forward and now that they are at high school level, I realize they do so with ease because of the strong foundation that was laid.  Here is series of reviews I did for on website.


It has been several years since I have used time4learning to homeschool my now high school level kids. By using the program, an excellent educational foundation that was laid for my children.


Since it's inception 2002, Time4learning

Friday, January 15, 2010

Educational Website Review: Verbalearn.com

I recently had the opportunity to review verbalearn.com, both the free program and the paid Verbalearn Plus program.  I will start by telling  you I like it.

Verbalearn.com   is a website that helps students improve their vocabulary by focusing on words they don't know.  In it's simplest version Verbalearn allows you to insert your vocabulary words into the website, or
it can recommend words for you.  It will then test you on the words using multiple choice sentences.  The program will take words you already know of of the list so you can concentrate on the words you don't know.  Depending upon the level of membership you choose, you can download words on an MP3 player, use the words in crossword puzzles, or review flashcards.

Sure, there are other programs that allow you to play with your words online and in downloads, but Verbalearn is superior as it will help a student study words according to grade level, standardized tests, or ESL needs.

There are three levels of membership available.  The first level is free, and allows students to build word lists and review them in context (fill in the blank multiple choice sentences.) The second level Verbalearn Plus which is only $19.99 (one time fee) In addition to the other features, it includes MP3 studylists, advanced review, video flashcards, crossword puzzles, and the ability to print flashcards.  In the third version, for only $40.00 one time fee, students can also have the chance to earn their money back as they learn their vocabulary words.

I highly recommend this program for homeschoolers and others too.

See the Press Release of the program here:    Vocabulary Site VerbaLearn.com Guarantees Higher SAT, GRE and ACT Test Scores

(I was not paid for this website review)


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read more Notes From a Homeschooling Mom

Visit Me at the Families.com Homeschool Blog

Visit My Education Column at Examiner.com

Check out FREE HOME EDUCATION WEBSITE for free homeschool links and resources

Thursday, April 24, 2008

Educational Website Reviews: LingoMingo.com

Public school students can practice foreign language in classrooms with other students on a daily basis. Homeschoolers however may have a bit of a challenge in finding someone to speak their foreign language with. If you pick the native language of your next-door neighbor or are lucky to have a family member who speaks your language of choice, then that is wonderful. If you choose to learn Portuguese or Hindi, however and no one around you speaks that language, what is a homeschooler to do?

A new website called LingoMingo attempts to address this issue. LingoMingo is a social network designed to connect language learners around the world. The site matches native language speakers with people who want to learn the language and provides audio video based chat, and an email inbox. This site is free to use. LingoMingo also has free language videos, screensavers.

This is not a site for children. It is for mature homeschoolers and adults who will not get distracted by the numerous Google ads for dating sites on the page. There is a disclaimer on the bottom of the page that advises parents supervise anyone 18 or under on the site. When used with parental consent and supervision it could turn out to be a useful tool for homeschoolers.


Read more Notes From a Homeschooling Mom

Visit Me at the Families.com Homeschool Blog

Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Educational Website Reviews: Atomic Elephant Toy Company

One of the best science lessons my homeschooled children ever had was a trip to “Bodies” the Exhibition where we were able to see real human specimens dissected and displayed in numerous ways that made human biology easy to understand. “Bodies” is a traveling exhibition that visits several cities each year and if you can catch it, you will be pleased with how much your kids will learn.

If you cannot catch the Bodies exhibition, the next best thing in my estimation is the Ultimate Human Body 2.2, an interactive computed program full of 3D models, a body scanner, views of human organs from every angle, and even a journey into a cell. I do not think there is a better biology tool for home use available. To top it off, this program set costs no more than the price of one ticket to the Bodies exhibition.

The program and other science toys and kits are available through Atomic Elephant Toy Company, an online store that specializes in making learning about science fun. You can purchase learning toys according to subject from Aeronautics to Engineering, to Plant Life. You can also find the right science learning kit by using the shop by age tool.


Read more Notes From a Homeschooling Mom

Visit Me at the Families.com Homeschool Blog

Sunday, March 02, 2008

Why I wouldn't Use Scholastic for Homeschooling

I noticed some time ago that the Scholastic website had featured articles with homeschooling advice. I found this advice cursory at best as a way to make homeschoolers, who were also their clients, feel a little warm and fuzzy.

Today I came across and article that cemented my feelings about the level on insincerity of Scholastic's dedication to homeschoolers. I find the article Why Homeschooling Isn't Right for Us by Carole Moore just as surface and insincere as many of their other articles like 8 Steps to homeschooling which includes watching for common pitfalls like lack of socialization for parents and kids.

I could go on, but you get the point.... you won't catch me purchasing homeschooling materials from a company that doesn't respect homeschooling enough to write articles that lack any depth at all and continues to perpetuate stereotypes about homeschooling.

Read more Notes From a Homeschooling Mom

Visit Free Home Ed. Homeschool For Free!

Wednesday, January 23, 2008

Educational Website Review: Jubilee Academy


The Jubilee Academy is one of the more popular and long-standing names in Homeschooling. It is a Christian, bible-based, online homeschool program for students from Kindergarten to grade 12. It is fully accredited.

I am a strong advocate of using technology to educate children. Having used an online technology based homeschooling program myself for several years, I know that combining computers with homeschooling is the right thing to do for children. Jubilee Academy uses a combination of EBooks, Videos, Workbooks and CD-ROMs to educate students. Students can receive curriculum support any hour of the day or night.

For Preschoolers, Jubilee Academy is built upon weekly themes in unit-study fashion. Elementary students study reading and language arts, math, social studies, creation science, and have religious instruction. Middle school courses are designed to prepare your student for high school classes. Parents are encouraged to mix and match grade levels to meet a students specific needs. The high school program allows parents and students to further customize their education. Jubilee Academy also has a summer school program allowing students to improve grades or gain an academic advantage.

Tuition prices at Jubilee Academy are very reasonable with half-year discounts available for the many students who begin homeschooling half year. I recommend this program to new homeschoolers who need some guidance and the comfort of knowing that your student is receiving a complete homeschool education.

Check out all of my reviews of homeschool websites at this link.



Read more Notes From a Homeschooling Mom

Visit Free Home Ed. Homeschool For Free!

Wednesday, November 21, 2007

Educational Website Review: K-12 Free Homeschool

I saw the words K-12 Free Homeschool and got nervous. I am going to have to give a bad review, I thought. One public school at home program is no different from the rest, not to mention the fact that veteran homeschoolers everywhere are waving their arms and yelling NOOOO about free k-12 homeschool programs. But this one is different.

First of all, it is not a public school program. K-12 Free Academy is an online "cutting edge solution for home school families who wish to provide their children with a quality CHRISTIAN education at home." Yes, I sad Christian and Free in the same sentence.
Here's how it can be tuition-free.


But what about the courses? K-12 Free provides 6 courses per year for elementary students, Middle school students can choose electives and alternate learning paths in addition to core courses. High schoolers can choose from free core courses and elective courses. The large variety of courses includes Crime Scene Investigation and piano lessons. The programs are based on CD-roms, audio, videos, workbooks, textbooks, and off line activities. They also provide record keeping software and access to teacher assistance, portfolio creation and more. Check out the K-12FreeHomeschool.org Course Catalog for more information.

So what do I think about K-12 Free Home School? I am certainly intrigued by the program. I looked at the sample lessons and found the fraction lesson to be intensive, complete, and concise. I love the way the lesson was followed up by links to more information and Internet activities. I am sure a child would learn well using lessons like these.

So if you are willing to put in a little work (reviewing products and completing surveys), you can take advantage of this new homeschool program.

Read more Notes From a Homeschooling Mom

Thursday, November 15, 2007




Educational Website Review: Accelerated Learning
By dreahwrites, Oct 17, 2007 This video introduces accelerated learning homeschool curriculum http://www.acceleratedlearning.com/ Watch»

Read more Notes From a Homeschooling Mom

Friday, November 09, 2007

Educational Website Review: Allied National High School


Here is a video I made reviewing the website Allied National High School.

Educational Website Review: Allied National High School
By dreahwrites, Sep 13, 2007 This video demonstrates Allied National Highschool, a distance learning program. Watch»

Read more Notes From a Homeschooling Mom

Wednesday, October 17, 2007

Educational Website Review: 3D Learn Interactive Academy

Educational Website Review: 3D Learn Interactive Academy
By dreahwrites, Oct 17, 2007

This video introduces the online learning website http://www.3dlearn.com/ Watch»

If you have used this program please leave a comment detailing your experiences




Read more Notes From a Homeschooling Mom


Educational Website Review: 3D Learner

Educational Website Review: 3D Learner

By dreahwrites,

this video will introduce you to 3d Learning, a website for Dyslexic homeschool and traditionally schooled children. http://www.3dlearner.com/ Watch»

If you have used this program, please leave a comment detailing your experiences.



Read more Notes From a Homeschooling Mom